Windows 10 May Have Been Downloaded Without Your Permission

Lately Microsoft has not been communicating their intents to its consumers, properly. With rage over privacy concerns from many reports as well as consumers, they should not do something like this: They are downloading the installation files of to your 7 or 8/8.1, even if you did not ask for it.

This, in its plainest form, should not be like this. Microsoft could have added a toggle/switch to turn on or off the downloading Windows 10, in Windows 7/8/8.1, right? Unless Microsoft is doing this intentionally, they should somehow ask for permission before such big things. Your PC might have already downloaded Windows 10 installation files and may only be a step away from installation.

windows 10 640x445 Windows 10 May Have Been Downloaded Without Your Permission

For the record, these files are only downloaded if Windows Update is on. And that is true, Windows Update is turned on by default and most consumers would not want to turn it off. Because security patches and bug fixes are always on their way to your operating system, right? Plus with the amount of security patches that were released last year, you will want to keep Windows Update.

What Microsoft has to say?

Then Windows 10 is being downloaded via the same Windows Update. Here’s official statement given to The Reporter:

“For those who have chosen to receive automatic updates through Windows Update, we help customers prepare their devices for Windows 10 by downloading the files necessary for future installation. This results in a better upgrade experience and ensures the customer’s device has the latest software.” 

The statement says that Microsoft is doing this for better user experience.

So how is this wrong?

First… not all people have unlimited bandwidth available, right? And it may cost these limited bandwidth’s computers many bucks for installation files, which, they might . To download something like 3GB may not be affordable by everyone, agree? Second… downloading an entire operating system just in case you might need it is not the best practice. You should first notify the user and ask for the permission clearly.

If you turn off the automatic updates and the installation files have not yet been downloaded in your computer, then they will prevented. But of course, doing so is equivalent to risking your to security vulnerabilities and exploits, right?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *